Read Soul Kiss by Scarlett Jacobs Neil S. Plakcy Online

soul-kiss

When seventeen-year-old Melissa Torani falls for cute but nerdy newcomer Daniel Florez, she has no idea that meeting him, and sharing a deep soul kiss, will change her life forever. No longer an ordinary girl, she’s plunged into a world of gang-bangers, Cuban exiles, and FBI agents. And what’s going on with her brain? How come she’s suddenly so much smarter than she used tWhen seventeen-year-old Melissa Torani falls for cute but nerdy newcomer Daniel Florez, she has no idea that meeting him, and sharing a deep soul kiss, will change her life forever. No longer an ordinary girl, she’s plunged into a world of gang-bangers, Cuban exiles, and FBI agents. And what’s going on with her brain? How come she’s suddenly so much smarter than she used to be?Just one kiss from Daniel plunges Melissa into a science fiction world-- have Daniel’s brain cells been leaking into her? How can that be possible? And yet she’s reading faster than she ever has before, scoring higher on school tests, and even helping her parents understand what’s wrong with her brother, the Big Mistake.Melissa’s wry, funny take on adolescence, falling love and getting out from under her parents will draw you in. Fans of Richelle Mead and Stephenie Meyer will fall in love with Melissa and Daniel as they depend on their brains and their deep emotional connection to survive-- and maybe even graduate from high school along the way....

Title : Soul Kiss
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 2940012613707
Format Type : Nook
Number of Pages : 0 Pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

Soul Kiss Reviews

  • SueM
    2019-04-19 12:55

    I don't often read YA fiction (too many Twilight-type stories) but I admit to being surprisingly glad that I was gifted this book as it seems to be a fresh take on the genre.Melissa (or Missy as her family calls her, to her frustration) is in her final year of school before heading to college. She's always been considered to be fairly bright, taking AP classes in all her subjects, but has never been seen as a genius. Starting the final year with her is Daniel, a new boy who is kind of hot (if he got his hair cut and better clothes), has an accent, and who quickly demonstrates that he is a geek with extensive knowledge in all his classes. Of course, this doesn't make him popular with his classmates while his Cuban origins makes him doubly unpopular with some of Melissa's friends.After helping Melissa's father with the purchase of a couple of computers from the store where he works part-time, Daniel is invited to dinner at Melissa's house. Melissa soon begins to see other qualities in Daniel which leads to a friendship developing between them. While helping Melissa study, Melissa in turn helps him learn to drive, particularly when it becomes clear Daniel comes from a poor part of town, where he lives with his widowed mother, and has no real access to a car. The friendship soon blossoms into romance and after their first kiss, Melissa starts changing, becoming much smarter academically, as if some of Daniel's thought processes and ability to speed read had somehow become a part of her.From this point, the story develops almost into an X-Files type of story. There is mystery, conspiracy and romance all set within the usual teenage life at school - catty girlfriends, pesty little brothers, parents who just don't understand and concerns whether good grades will be enough to get them into the college of their dreams, if only they could decide which college and course they want!Melissa's character is portrayed with increasing depth as the novel progresses. She becomes more aware of both herself and others around her as her academic abilities steadily increase, growing up rapidly with many positive changes, but is still in many ways a typical teenager with all of a teenager's usual somewhat selfish flaws.I felt that Daniel's character was less well-developed than Melissa's as although we do find out more about him, much remains unknown. However, I suspect the lack of development is a deliberate ploy by the author, as I feel that this book is the first book in a series, with at least another book (if not more) to come. At the end of the book, it becomes apparent that only the tip of the mystery/conspiracy iceberg has been revealed and Daniel is at the heart of it.Overall, I enjoyed this novel (if I could give 4.5 stars, I would) as I found it to be well written with an interesting plot and realistic characters, and would certainly recommend it to those tired of the vampire/werewolf novels that seem to over-populate YA fiction.

  • Neil Plakcy
    2019-04-20 06:23