Read A Prisoner in Fairyland by Algernon Blackwood Online

a-prisoner-in-fairyland

[FULL TEXT]In the train, even before St. John's was passed, a touch of inevitable reaction had set in, and Rogers asked himself why he was going. For a sentimental journey was hardly in his line, it seemed. But no satisfactory answer was forthcoming -- none, at least, that a Board or a Shareholders' Meeting would have considered satisfactory. The old vicar spoke to him str[FULL TEXT]In the train, even before St. John's was passed, a touch of inevitable reaction had set in, and Rogers asked himself why he was going. For a sentimental journey was hardly in his line, it seemed. But no satisfactory answer was forthcoming -- none, at least, that a Board or a Shareholders' Meeting would have considered satisfactory. The old vicar spoke to him strangely. "We've not forgotten you as you've forgotten us," he said. "And the place, though empty now for years, has not forgotten you either, I'll be bound." Rogers brushed it off. Just silliness -- that was all it was. But after St. John's the conductor shouted, "Take your seats! Take your seats! The Starlight Express is off to Fairyland! Show your tickets! Show your tickets!" And then the forgotten mystery of his childhood came back to him. . . ....

Title : A Prisoner in Fairyland
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9781592245147
Format Type : Paperback
Number of Pages : 344 Pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

A Prisoner in Fairyland Reviews

  • Mike
    2019-03-28 09:26

    This story surprised me. I wasn't prepared to like it as much as I did, but such are the surprises that await one who is willing to dig through the archives of public domain literature. I would certainly classify this one as a gem.I had never heard of Algernon Blackwood until I was searching for good public domain books to download from Project Gutenberg when I came across a forum that mentioned several of his books. Upon further research I decided on The Willows and A Prisoner in Fairyland. The two books couldn’t have been more different, and although I enjoyed them both I was most captivated and rewarded by A Prisoner in Fairyland.This book does an excellent job of taking the reader on a journey without telling them where they are going. I was constantly trying to decide if the book was supposed to be fantasy, magical realism, spiritualism, or some other genre. In the end, it turned out not to matter as much what was “behind the curtain” so to speak because the settings, the characters, and the story were all so delightful that I found myself more concerned about what the next page was going to hold than what it all meant. I still don’t know if I have a firm opinion on what the “moral” of the story was or what genre I would file it away in, but I don’t really care. I was just so happy to discover this tale that I’m willing to overlook any loose ends. I’m sure that I’ll come back to read this book again, and maybe then I’ll be able to make up my mind about some of the unresolved questions I had. In the meantime, I’ll gladly recommend this to anyone looking for a delightful entertaining fiction book, assuming they aren’t put off by flying trains, children who come alive in their sleep, or quaint villages.

  • Catherine Thompson
    2019-04-15 05:09

    A wealthy businessman retires in order to devote himself to a great work of charity, only to discover that he's been going about it in quite the wrong way.This synopsis is really dry, and honestly says very little about the book, but A Prisoner in Fairyland is pretty much impossible to sum up. On the surface, the above synopsis is what the book is about. Henry Rogers retires, intending to devote himself to his grand Scheme for Disabled--we never learn exactly what--and on a whim goes back to his hometown. There, he rediscovers the fantasy world he'd imagined to entertain himself and his friends as a boy. The fantasy world, he soon learns, is real, and very much connected with the "real" world. He learns that he can effect more good in the world through this Starlight Express train and the people who travel upon it, through "lost starlight" redistribution, than he could ever hope to through his Scheme and with his money.A Prisoner in Fairyland would be described as "magic realism" today, and as such, is probably one of the earliest works of that type. The underlying theme is that true charity comes not through monetary donations or great charitable Schemes but through simple human kindness, one to another. Blackwood brings in thought transference as his method of creating kindness: think good thoughts, and good things will happen. If enough people think good thoughts, then much that is wrong with the world will be righted. It's positively beautiful.

  • Jessica
    2019-04-19 09:13

    At the heart of A Prisoner in Fairyland is a little story about wonder and compassion and love. Unfortunately that story gets lost among all of the WORDS. Seriously, it could have been cut down by at least half and still had enough length to tell a still rambling story about Rogers' adventures in the starlight.There were two nit picky things that really bothered me throughout. One was how Rogers calls his cousin Daddy. What self respecting grown man calls his male cousin Daddy? (or for that matter his cousin's wife Mother?) I don't care what year it is. That's ridiculous. The second thing was the word "wumbled". At first it was charming and perfectly descriptive of John (or Daddy as Rogers insists on calling him). About the thirtieth use I started wanting to throw the book. Probably wouldn't have gone well for my e-reader.I thought this book might be magical when I downloaded it. I love it when books are magical. It wasn't.

  • Jean
    2019-03-27 09:12

    An extreme indulgence for my romantic fantasy side (Byron romantic, not Nora Roberts romantic). Some truly soul-stirring moments, but overall a little long. I was glad when it was over; but I was also glad I read it.

  • Mina Nicoli
    2019-04-05 08:00

    It may have some flaws in writing, but the concepts are wonderful and cosmically spiritual in nature - the very high thinking involved in this book is what gives it its high value.

  • Lesley Anne
    2019-03-31 05:15

    I did it! I finally finished the book I began over 8 months ago! And if the time it took me to read it makes you think that this is a reflection of the quality of the writing, then you couldn't be further from the truth. This book is beautiful. And it's very much aware.If I were to explain this book in terms of what people might understand, I would say it's the 'Inception' of early 20th century literature. It talks about the connection we all have as human beings during our most vulnerable state... when we're asleep. Eventually, one of the characters decides to write about their experiences in "Fairyland", and this is where he cross-over between 2 worlds happens. The words are vivid and expressive, which I feel were trying to express the importance of family, love, charity and acceptance of others. I personally loved this book, but it is a bit labourious, so if you're looking for a summer beach read, this is NOT recommended. But, if you are looking for a lovely "what is our purpose?" read, please take the time on this book.

  • Jien
    2019-03-27 07:22

    This was tedious to read. He uses the same elements that I've noted in all his previous novels, even using the same names and relationships for characters. There's this obsession he has with "so called real things" and thinking that imagining things can make them real and that the imagined things are more real than actual reality. This is in every novel of his.The plot is... what exactly? There's so much time spent on children talking about nonsense that I couldn't figure out where the "story" was going. It just dragged and went for pages and pages on entirely unneeded and uninteresting things. Like all his previous novels, there's no real sense of danger, conflict, or plot development. Characters remain static, and the same elements just keep being repeated into inanity.As far as I can tell, his true mastery of horror is not reflected in his novels in any way.

  • Rachel Kopel
    2019-04-15 06:58

    Hmmmm, this book reads like it was written for pay-by-the-word. Occasionally Blackwood is beautifully lyrical and the words are well worth it, but there is a lot of repetition. The message also was interesting, from 1913, that we are all connected by our thoughts and that thinking well, thinking good things, sending good wishes and deeds into the world, is of great benefit to all. Since I believe this, it was interesting to read this approach to it. I purchased this especially to read on a long bus trip to Yosemite. It was hard to stay focused when there was a lot of chatter around me, but a good read when things were quieter. The length turned out to be just right. Also not a problem to put it down when other things intervened. So it was a good choice.

  • John Hawkins
    2019-04-05 06:09

    I read this as a download from FeedBooks - a long, rambling story with a rather abrupt ending, but if one accepts the somewhat surreal assumptions made about dreaming and imagination, in the context of the story at least, it's actually quite a good read. I wouldn't recommend it as one's first Algernon Blackwood read though; too long and too weird. Read 'The Willows' and 'Jimbo', in that order, before this. I've given up on some works of his and wondered why I bothered with others, but this one I will read again.

  • Greg Meyer
    2019-03-27 08:18

    Well, this was disappointing. Blackwood's short stories - "The Willows," for example, are great, in the vein of Lovecraft or Dunsany. This...this novel just didn't grab me. The characters were blandly inoffensive, the writing style was akin to Dickens being read by someone on Quaaludes, and...yeah. Not too great.

  • Jessica
    2019-04-02 01:22

    This book is just beautiful. There's not much in the way of plot, and the language is a bit dense at times. But the main conceit of the novel, the concept of Fairyland and of good people spreading beauty to the world simply by being was lovingly explored in a giant, entrancing metaphor.

  • Ani Vardanyan
    2019-04-07 02:04

    Oh god, this could be at least five times shorter X_X Nevertheless, it's Blackwood, the language and the general ideas were beautiful, that's why I can't give it a single star. :/

  • Carl Bettis
    2019-03-26 09:23

    Too much magic and starlight and wistfulness, too little character and conflict. At least, in the first 1/3 of the book. I didn't go any further than that.

  • Sheryl
    2019-04-05 09:06

    The plot never really got going.

  • SharaLee Podolecki
    2019-04-12 05:06

    A beautiful story, though why it was in my 'Horror Books' app, I will never know...

  • Tabitha Ormiston-Smith
    2019-04-20 08:24

    I thought the book was utter bullshit, but it was such very beautifully written bullshit that I gave it 2 stars anyway.

  • Autumn
    2019-03-26 05:06

    If ever I was going to stop reading a book, this would have been the one. Painful, slow, long. I didn't understand the point of it.