Read The Secret Archives of Sherlock Holmes by June Thomson Online

the-secret-archives-of-sherlock-holmes

Previously unpublished case notes from the pen of Dr. John H. Watson, companion to the great detective Sherlock Holmes, come to light in this new collection from June Thomson. A mysterious veiled lady carries a counterfeit painting into an art dealer's office. A widow with three hands slips out of a church door. A farmer lies dead in a barn, his son accused of his murder,Previously unpublished case notes from the pen of Dr. John H. Watson, companion to the great detective Sherlock Holmes, come to light in this new collection from June Thomson. A mysterious veiled lady carries a counterfeit painting into an art dealer's office. A widow with three hands slips out of a church door. A farmer lies dead in a barn, his son accused of his murder, and a skeleton with a silver locket is unearthed in a back garden. Who can solve these mysteries? One man. He lives on Baker Street. The recent Hollywood and BBC adaptations of Conan Doyle's stories have led to a surge of interest and Thomson captures Watson's voice with aplomb....

Title : The Secret Archives of Sherlock Holmes
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9780749011369
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 285 Pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

The Secret Archives of Sherlock Holmes Reviews

  • Deep S
    2019-04-15 19:37

    I am a Huge fan of Sherlock and Watson.This book has some good stories and some nice mysteries.The author has done a good job in capturing the writing style of Doyle.good description of mystery, Watson all worried, Sherlock planning and revealing the suspense in the end.I give this book 4/5Devil D

  • Claire N
    2019-04-20 15:44

    I enjoyed the other June Thomson books much better -- start with one of those. The best story here is The Case of the Watchful Waiter, which bring into play story elements that I have never seen in a Sherlock patiche.

  • Ruth Lawton
    2019-04-19 22:57

    I didn't really think about it being a book of short stories when I chose it from the library, so because all the stories are the same - Sherlock Holmes solving something - it got boring and,to me, repetitive

  • Nancy Newton
    2019-04-12 17:35

    Not as true to the Canon as I would ike

  • Sandip K B
    2019-04-06 20:46

    A good attempt at recreating the Sherlock Magic.The start was a tad bit wearying but by the second case the old Sherlock gathered steam.

  • Phil Ellenberger
    2019-04-16 17:51

    As lwaus In my reading June? Thomson writers almost as a modern Doyl. I have read the!m as they are published and enjoyed them all.

  • Riju Ganguly
    2019-04-08 17:49

    After the high of the previous collection of pastiches by June Thomson, this one was distinctly unsatisfactory, on the following counts:1. The plots had neither mystery, nor intrigue, and appeared to be watered down versions of some of the more memorable stories read elsewhere.2. Holmes was too joyous, too smiling, too accommodating, and simply too positive, and hence didn't appear true to the persona created by ACD.3. The stories were unnecessarily full of the 'lingo' spoken by the Victorian underworld, and came as a 'patter' trying to distract us from the fact that there was not a single mystery in the whole book.Disappointing, and definitely not recommended.

  • Alan Brindley-Taylor
    2019-03-23 15:36

    A decent read but not a brilliant one.The reasons I have given just a 3 star rTing may seem trivial. But they are...1 Lestrade's accent annoyed me. I don't recall him ever being such a stereotypical cockney in the past. I may be wrong and I will admit it if I am but I cannot recall him ever calling Holmes "Mr 'Olmes. 2- far too many French phrases I couldn't understand.3- Holmes seemed far too cheerful and playful.4- I fail to see why any of these cases would have been locked away rather than published? I will read more by this author in the future as I have done in the past. I just hope the next book is better.

  • Shubhra
    2019-03-29 19:37

    Another good pastiche of Sherlock Holmes by June Thomson... takes one to almost the level of excitement and thrill as the canonical works by Doyle...Of particular note are the Conk-Singleton Forgery case, the case of the One-Eyed Colonel and the case of the Missing Belle-Fille...A good read for fans of Holmes and Watson.

  • Michele
    2019-04-17 18:44

    Yet another example of an American author writing in a British setting and NOT getting themselves a British editor to handle the Americanisms. This might seem trivial to others, but it's damned distracting to me!

  • Vikas Datta
    2019-04-19 21:47

    Quite good in invoking the ambience- though the stories are a trifle uneven, especially the second last one about the French family where the plot is a little too complicated and worst of all, Lestrade speaks like a Cockney...

  • Nick Smith
    2019-03-28 23:40

    Generally uninteresting stories supposedly in the similar style to the original stories. Lacking imagination, straightforward detective stories. Best to avoid.

  • Jocelyn
    2019-03-21 23:38

    Obviously not Conan Doyle - far too much "lingo" and info that is historically known but that he didn't know. But very enjoyable nonetheless.

  • Phil
    2019-04-16 19:34

    great book for Sherlock fans

  • Christine Coombs
    2019-04-08 19:37

    She gets really close to the real thing. Could do without the footnotes explaining the background to certain comments.