Read The Sea Monster by Jennifer E. Morris Online

the-sea-monster

[Scholastic Reader Level 1]Steve and Wessley are back in the hilarious follow-up to THE ICE CREAM SHOP!There is something in the pond. Wessley thinks it's just a stick. But Steve thinks it may be something much scarier....Readers will love the second outing of hilarious duo Steve and Wessley, two friends who always seem to get into the silliest situations!...

Title : The Sea Monster
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9780545614825
Format Type : Paperback
Number of Pages : 32 Pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

The Sea Monster Reviews

  • AMY
    2019-05-01 00:40

    Silly story about a rabbit and mouse who are visiting a park. The mouse sees what he fears is a sea monster in the pond. The rabbit continues to say it can't possibly be that and give rationale for why it is probably other things. There is a nice twist at the end. Fun and funny! Recommended for Gr. K-3.

  • Paula
    2019-05-21 21:32

    Steve the opossum and Wessley the rabbit are back in this comedic follow-up to their first adventure, The Ice Cream Shop. As the duo are walking by the pond on their way to have lunch, Steve thinks he sees a sea monster floating in the pond, but Wessley thinks it's just a stick and sets out to convince Steven and the reader that it couldn't possibly be a sea monster. As the two banter back and forth, astute readers will find a secondary story happening in the background involving a sleeping bear, a book, and several curious ducks. Children will enjoy the surprise ending and the last page that ties up all the previous visual clues left by the author. The spare text, accompanied by bright cartoon illustrations, is sure to appeal to fans of Elephant and Piggie and Hippo and Rabbit. Recommended.

  • Becky
    2019-05-17 22:29

    Did Steve really really see a sea monster? He sure is convinced. But his friend, Wessley, is equally convinced that it is NOT a sea monster. I think Wessley doesn't believe there is such a thing as a sea monster. By the end, one friend will be proved right as readers will see. But will Wessley be right? Or will Steve be right? Can readers follow all the clues? Can they guess which friend is right?

  • Nicole
    2019-05-10 22:12

    The idea of the story was appealing and got us to read it, but too many new words/only used once words, and THEN the characters just littered and left their garbage by the pond and the imaginary monster picks it up :( Boo.

  • Brenda Kahn
    2019-05-16 04:14

    STeve and Wessley debate the probability of a sea monster siting in this humorous early reader.

  • Jason
    2019-05-02 03:15

    Totally predictable, but it plays itself out in a very satisfying way.

  • Jnase1
    2019-05-19 22:17

    Funny book. The reader needs to pay attention to the pictures, too to really get the humor. Young readers will enjoy it.

  • Mary Anne
    2019-05-01 03:28

    Steve & Wessley are walking along beside a pond. Steve saw something in the water. Maybe a sea monster! Wessley says it is just a stick. Funny story with cute illustrations!

  • Robin Rousu
    2019-05-19 21:41

    Cute but a little boring. Ages 5-7.