Read Meet the Dullards by Sara Pennypacker Daniel Salmieri Online

meet-the-dullards

In the tradition of The Stupids, Meet the Dullards is a clever and irreverent picture book about a comically boring family, from bestselling author Sara Pennypacker and illustrator Daniel Salmieri.Their home is boring. Their food is plain. Their lives are monotonous. And Mr. and Mrs. Dullard like it that way.But their children—Blanda, Borely, and Little Dud—have other ideaIn the tradition of The Stupids, Meet the Dullards is a clever and irreverent picture book about a comically boring family, from bestselling author Sara Pennypacker and illustrator Daniel Salmieri.Their home is boring. Their food is plain. Their lives are monotonous. And Mr. and Mrs. Dullard like it that way.But their children—Blanda, Borely, and Little Dud—have other ideas. . . .Never has dullness been so hilarious than in this deadpan, subversive tale....

Title : Meet the Dullards
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9780062198563
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 32 Pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

Meet the Dullards Reviews

  • Donalyn
    2019-02-08 21:08

    Proof that picture books aren't just for primary age readers. Hilarious and sophisticated.

  • Magpie67
    2019-01-26 19:11

    Clearly there is a misconception between the parent's and the children's ideas of fun. Why would you read books with pictures and words when an acceptable blank piece of paper will do. Watching the paint dry on the wall is exciting... yeah, not for the children. The Dullards move into a new home hoping to ensure the boredom will stay because at the other place it was like a circus... There was a snail in the driveway causing grief. Ha! They went from a square home to a triangle home. Very plain neighborhoods. The welcoming committee with a plate of cookies was just too much to handle. I giggled while reading it out loud to the librarian, who showed me the book. So funny, hilarious for the parent who is reading it to a child. The illustrations were comical even. A must read!!!

  • Peacegal
    2019-02-02 00:04

    What's good about it:MEET THE DULLARDS has a clever concept and witty sight gags. Children and adults alike will snicker at the family that is so dull they literally watch paint dry as a form of entertainment. What's not so good:The theme of this story is that the Dullard children have less-dull aspirations. While Mr. and Mrs. Dullard attempt to shield their children from all forms of excitement, the kids end up breaking out of the shapeless gray mold and joining a circus! The bad thing is, it's an animal circus, with performing lions and elephants. As more and more behind-the-scenes cruelties are revealed, performing wild-animal acts are becoming less and less acceptable. So why do so many children's books still celebrate the animal circus? Few of today's kids books would show a family happily attending a bullfight--so it's about time for today's children's authors to stop presenting animal circuses as innocent fun.

  • Janie Johnson
    2019-02-13 20:08

    Aeverie and I both enjoyed this book. I did think the ending was kind of abrupt though. It does have nice illustrations though. I don't think there was much of a story being told here. This is a family who prefer to be dull, but their children feel otherwise, and this pretty much tells how these kids do things that are not dull, but spontaneous and fun.

  • J
    2019-01-20 18:11

    This is hilarious. I plan on reading it to some school age children.

  • Jill
    2019-01-23 22:46

    This is a story about Mr. and Mrs. Dullard who try to raise their three children- Blanda, Borely, and Little Dud - without any “upsetting” commotion, such as, for instance, leaves turning colors. The parents’ idea of a good time is watching paint dry - as long as it’s a dull color, of course. Needless to say, the kids end up running off to join the circus.Daniel Salmieri uses watercolor, gouache and colored-pencil scenes to capture the contrast between the preferred oatmeal tones of the parents to the more colorful predilections of the children. I thought his humorous drawings added a great deal to the text.Evaluation: I suspect readers will find this either hilarious or - well - dull. I admit I fell more in the latter category.

  • Dawn
    2019-02-05 21:05

    Really cute illustrations that first show the dullard kids reading about circus tricks, then shows them practicing their tricks at the hardware/paint store, then shows them honing their skills in the backyard, before finally joining the circus. None of it is mentioned in the text :)Fun book, I especially liked having the Dullards buy grey-beige paint and then watching it dry (but will kids get this?).

  • Mary
    2019-01-27 22:50

    This is a great story of dull parents determined to protect their equally dull children - Blanda, Borely, and Little Dud - from anything remotely colourful, interesting and fun. The children are determined to have fun and keep finding it. The illustrations are wonderful. I particularly like a swooning Mrs. Dullard when confronted with a room in their new house.

  • Morgan
    2019-01-20 16:02

    This book is pretty darn funny, but a lot of the humor comes from comparing the text to the silly illustrations which might be hard to convey in larger storytimes. Either way, it reminded me of when my mom used to read "The Dumb Bunnies" to me and my brothers before bed and we'd analyze every page for the funny jokes hidden within the illustrations which gave me some warm fuzzies.

  • Alice
    2019-01-27 21:46

    4.25 starsI just don't generally laugh out loud, it just isn't my personality description, but when I do actually LOL...it is a real jolly LOL!This book just tickles my fancy! Thanks Sara, a fun book with wit and humor!

  • Sunil Jawahir
    2019-02-09 18:55

    Cute illustrations but I don't really know who this book is meant to entertain.

  • Gail Holman
    2019-02-16 18:02

    A book for every "bored" child. I would love to read this aloud to them. Great for kids and adults.

  • Greta
    2019-02-14 20:58

    My kids just loved this! And yes, I did use an exclamation point! (Ha Ha.)

  • Ryan M. Hanna
    2019-02-14 23:01

    So many small details to uncover in this book. Definitely a read-aloud for my sixth-graders :)

  • Mari
    2019-01-30 20:58

    Hilarious. I think this would be a great picture book to share with 1st and 2nd graders. I LOVE all of the fun details to discover in the illustrations. Don't forget to look at the back cover!

  • Brownd2
    2019-02-07 19:11

    disappointing and DULL, but then what was I expecting??

  • Edward Sullivan
    2019-02-14 16:08

    The Dullard children do not share their parents' affection for boredom.

  • Tracey
    2019-01-27 23:55

    picture book (read aloud for older kids, grades 2 and up)* great illustrations, you have to see them to get the whole story (not a good choice for dial a story), with funny visual gags throughout.Haven't tried this yet as a read aloud, but I'll put it on my list of possibilities for older/mixed grade groups.Themes: * books can take you anywhere (summer reading 2018)* Boredom (pair with I'm Bored)

  • Maggie Ignasiak
    2019-02-12 23:53

    This is a good read for a slightly older group, probably best reserved for the most tongue in cheek humored family. It is very similar to The Stupids, though The Stupids will always reserve that special dumb humor in my heart.

  • Hannah Fjeld
    2019-02-15 17:54

    This book is hilarious---unfortunately the humor was way over the heads of everyone younger than third grade. I'd recommend it for older elementary students and up.

  • Selena
    2019-02-04 22:45

    Shows the life of a very boring family with their boring routines. Funny as an adult, but I think as a child, this wouldn't be my first pick.

  • Jill
    2019-02-18 23:08

    Another funny book that benefits from Pennypacker's sense of humor as well as Salmieri's illustrations. Big favorite in this house.

  • Shannon
    2019-02-16 16:01

    Funny story about a family of Dull folk whose children want to live a fun, lively, and colorful life by joining the circus

  • Miss Ryoko
    2019-02-12 19:15

    I thought this book was going to be funny. It wasn't. I guess the Dullards would be happy because it was utterly boring. Just how they like it. Perhaps that was the goal.

  • Sarah
    2019-02-13 20:49

    This was actually pretty funny! The humor comes from how outrageously boring/minimalistic the Dullards are! I liked how in the end the Dullard children were having fun behind their parents backs.

  • Claire Bobrow
    2019-02-04 18:03

    Deadpan humor and a great story about the world's most boring family. Well, parents anyway! Loved this book.

  • Megan
    2019-01-30 18:13

    Read for the author study in Sandy's 3rd/4th grade class

  • Christina
    2019-02-13 16:10

    Cute and quick read 🤓

  • Aminata
    2019-02-01 21:56

    So funny!

  • Karen
    2019-01-29 23:48

    This book is deep. Yes, the parents are dull and only want the dull life for their children. But, perhaps insert something other than dull and you see how parents truly influence their children. The children rebel and want to do all the things they are not allowed to do. Now I ask you, when is having a dog dull?