Read The Forgotten Seamstress Free Preview (The First 4 Chapters) by Liz Trenow Online

the-forgotten-seamstress-free-preview-the-first-4-chapters

FREE PREVIEW! "An intriguing patchwork of past and present, upstairs and downstairs, hope and despair." Daisy Goodwin, New York Times bestselling author of The American Heiress"Liz Trenow sews together the strands of past and present as delicately as the exquisite stitching on the quilt that forms the centerpiece of the story."-Lucinda Riley, author of The Orchid HouseSheFREE PREVIEW! "An intriguing patchwork of past and present, upstairs and downstairs, hope and despair." Daisy Goodwin, New York Times bestselling author of The American Heiress"Liz Trenow sews together the strands of past and present as delicately as the exquisite stitching on the quilt that forms the centerpiece of the story."-Lucinda Riley, author of The Orchid HouseShe Kept Her Secret for a Lifetime...A shy girl with no family, Maria knows she's lucky to have landed in the sewing room of the royal household. Before World War I casts its shadow, she catches the eye of the Prince of Wales, a glamorous and intense gentleman. But her life takes a far darker turn, and soon all she has left is a fantastical story about her time at Buckingham Palace. Decades later, Caroline Meadows discovers a beautiful quilt in her mother's attic. When she can't figure out the meaning of the message embroidered into its lining, she embarks on a quest to reveal its mystery, a puzzle that only seems to grow more important to her own heart. As Caroline pieces together the secret history of the quilt, she comes closer and closer to the truth about Maria. Page-turning and heartbreaking, The Forgotten Seamstress weaves together past and present in an unforgettable journey.This free ebook preview includes the first four chapters....

Title : The Forgotten Seamstress Free Preview (The First 4 Chapters)
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 21939588
Format Type : Kindle Edition
Number of Pages : 48 Pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

The Forgotten Seamstress Free Preview (The First 4 Chapters) Reviews

  • Martha
    2019-06-02 13:44

    separate generations connected by a quilt

  • Margo
    2019-05-26 13:41

    Loved it from beginning to end.

  • Katie Dennert
    2019-06-02 16:41

    I found this book to be predictable and at times, redundant. Some parts skipped days at a time very quickly, and with little detail, and other "days" drug on forever. It has potential, as a story, but the way it was written did not resonate with me.

  • DeDe
    2019-06-24 13:46

    Great book!

  • Lisa C
    2019-06-09 19:40

    I really liked this book. The story was different from anything I've read before. An easy read that I couldn't put down.

  • Katie Both
    2019-06-10 18:35

    Enjoyed this book. Page-turning and heartbreaking. This story moved quickly and the way the story lines weaved together at the end was seamless.

  • Beth
    2019-06-17 16:32

    Really enjoyed this read.

  • Laurie
    2019-06-20 16:36

    In 2008, Caroline is clearing out her mother’s attic when she finds a quilt, which her grandmother left to her. It’s an unusual piece of needlework; the seaming and embroidery are extraordinary, and some of the fabrics are very striking silks. So striking that when Caroline shows it to a friend who is a textile expert, she recognizes them as tiny pieces of fabrics known as the May Silks, specially woven for the wedding of Princess May (Mary) of Teck. How they ended up in a patchwork, and in Caroline’s grandmother’s possession, is unknown, but Caroline intends to find out. Another story goes along as Caroline searches for who made the quilt. In 1970, a graduate student in psychology is interviewing an inmate of a mental hospital. The patient, Maria, tells the story of being an orphan who is taught to sew and is selected to work in palace for the royal family. She talks of the Crown Prince, of a baby that was taken away from her, and her belief that she is in the mental ward to keep her from telling the world of the Prince’s baby. All fantasy, of course, the hallucinations of a schizophrenic. There is no way a lower class girl attracted the attention of the Prince! But how are these two woman connected? I enjoyed the puzzle of figuring out the origins of the quilt, the descriptions of life in the palace, and especially the descriptions of the fabrics and clothing. I was less impressed by the characters, however. Caroline and Maria are both people to whom things happen, but who rarely initiate action of any kind. In Maria’s case, a lot of that is out of her control, but her passivity with the Prince is kind of annoying. But she was a teenager in love, and so that’s a pretty common attitude. Caroline, however, is kind of annoying- she is older, supposedly independent, educated, and in control of her own fate, but she seems to float along. While I liked the two women, it was a lukewarm sort of liking. The other characters didn’t have much depth. It’s an enjoyable book but not a stunning one.

  • Barbara
    2019-06-09 13:32

    A shy girl with no family, Maria knows she's lucky to have landed in the sewing room of the royal household. Before World War I casts its shadow, she catches the eye of the Prince of Wales, a glamorous and intense gentleman. But her life takes a far darker turn, and soon all she has left is a fantastical story about her time at Buckingham Palace. Decades later, Caroline Meadows discovers a beautiful quilt in her mother's attic. When she can't figure out the meaning of the message embroidered into its lining, she embarks on a quest to reveal its mystery, a puzzle that only seems to grow more important to her own heart. As Caroline pieces together the secret history of the quilt, she comes closer and closer to the truth about Maria. Page-turning and heartbreaking, The Forgotten Seamstress weaves together past and present in an unforgettable journey.

  • Sharon
    2019-06-03 11:29

    Trenow did a great job merging the two time frames together and setting up the mystery of Maria as well as painting excellent word pictures of the characters. She dealt compassionately and carefully with the dementia suffered by Caroline's mother, Eleanor. The only dissonance I felt in this book was the anger Caroline exhibited toward Ben the newspaper reporter who had been helping her in her search for the seamstress who had created the gorgeous quilt found in Eleanor's attic. Still, I could relate to that anger because I personally know the stresses of trying to deal with daily life issues while also trying to balance the needs of an aging parent.Altogether a difficult book to put down. Well written and engaging.

  • Pamela ciccolini
    2019-06-22 16:49

    Another good novel added to my list!! Each month I try out a new author and this month it was Liz Trenow with her second novel The Forgotten Seamstress. I greatly enjoyed this one and so will be checking out this author's first novel. As stated on the cover "page turning and heartbreaking...weaves together past and present in an unforgettable journey" I found it exactly this and more. I started feeling emotionally involved in the main characters and couldn't wait to find out how this all came together and how this drama ended. The ability of an author to get the reader "emotionally involved" is the true sign of a "great story-teller" And so as a patch-work quilt is pieced together, this novel becomes sown together to produce an admired handiwork!

  • Connie Rehman
    2019-06-09 18:43

    Very enjoyable book written about a time when women were thrown into the Mental Institutes for various reasons besides being mentally ill. Weaves English Royalty with the underlings of society and a quilt that was made and passed up through time with a hidden message in it. Easy to read but kept my interest throughout.

  • Joan
    2019-06-15 12:34

    Being a quilter and a lover of English history, I fell right into this book and enjoyed it tremendously! Yet another book, where "problem" adult women are taken to mental institutions to be housed for the benefit of the privileged and wealthy. 1000 White Women being the first book mentioning that. Good read!

  • Terresa Smith
    2019-06-04 15:27

    I thought it was a slow read at first but after the first couple chapters you can figure out what is happening and about 100 pages in could not put it down.I enjoyed the mystery of the quilt and the history of it. The interwoven story lines was wonderful. I enjoyed reading this book.

  • mary
    2019-06-26 13:28

    The story was so scattered. Very predictable and things fell in to place so conveniently for Caroline. I know I'm enjoying a book when I look forward to time to read! Not so much with this book. I gave two stars - the cover is pretty!

  • Rocky
    2019-06-25 19:27

    Great read.

  • Nicole Stewart
    2019-06-16 14:32

    This is an amazing story!

  • Rosemary Miller
    2019-06-06 13:33

    Enjoyable book about seamstress in the 1930's and a textile designer in 2008 in London. Both stories intertwine and keep you curious about what will happen to them both.

  • Amanda
    2019-06-10 12:29

    Loved it! Couldn't put it down

  • Lynn
    2019-06-07 12:48

    Good historical fiction.Learn about quilts and quilting too.

  • Dereka
    2019-06-26 18:53

    Got this book as a bargain from Amazon and read it on my kindle while John was having his nephrectomy. It had weaknesses but held my attention nicely.

  • Tamara
    2019-06-21 14:26

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Once I was half way through I had a hard time putting it down :)

  • Diane Feldman
    2019-06-16 18:32

    I loved this book. It went from present to past so easily and the story was woven just like the quilt which is at the center of the story.

  • Ellen Hilliard
    2019-06-14 14:48

    Wonderful little gem!

  • Cristin
    2019-06-23 12:29

    A wonderful tale woven together as such that you don't know how it's going to end. A real thinker!!Dark in some places, but redeeming none the less.

  • Mukerrem
    2019-06-13 17:40

    It took me little while to get in to it ,but once I started couldn't put it down... it is just like a oriental carpet great design and colorful texture very thrilling...I did like it very much !

  • Lindsey
    2019-06-14 11:39

    Great book about the life of a shy orphan girl and how she is connected to the quilt Caroline finds in her mother's attic.

  • Sandra
    2019-05-31 17:32

    Love this book!!!! Highly recommend!!!

  • Vicki Mykles
    2019-06-22 19:50

    A charmingly twisted tale about two British women from different time periods who are bound together by a patchwork quilt made from royal silk scraps.