Read Rising Stars, Vol. 3: Fire and Ash by J. Michael Straczynski Brent Anderson Online

rising-stars-vol-3-fire-and-ash

Writer J. Michael Straczynski's superhero tour-de-force reaches its stunning conclusion as the final fate of the 113 "Pederson Specials" is revealed. The final chapter of one of the greatest comic series EVER is now available in trade paperback for your bookshelf!Collects Rising Stars #17-24....

Title : Rising Stars, Vol. 3: Fire and Ash
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9781582404912
Format Type : Paperback
Number of Pages : 205 Pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

Rising Stars, Vol. 3: Fire and Ash Reviews

  • Quentin Wallace
    2018-11-29 21:11

    So we finally got to see an end to the Rising Stars saga. I think my expectations were so high nothing could have matched them, which is why I enjoyed this one slightly less than the others. It was still really good nonetheless. As we probably could have guessed, we find out here the whole thing was (view spoiler)[ caused by an alien race, presumably to help better mankind.(hide spoiler)]Overall this was a very good comic series, and I would recommend all 3 volumes to any fans of superhero comics.

  • 47Time
    2018-12-09 23:17

    Simon convinces a special of a way to end the conflict around Jerusalem - by making the soil fertile again. This ends her life, but she manages what people see as a miracle that reunites them after hundreds of years of war. If only this worked in real life...The specials have helped humanity a great deal, but they have also suffered and some of them have upset men with the power and the resources to destroy them. Jerry 'Pyre' Montrose is the first to be killed with the help of an EMP that temporarily disables his power. The increase in power alerts the specials ans Simon confirms that they are hunted and goes after the people responsible for Jerry's death. When their leader is dead almost all the specials assume new identities prepared beforehand, but they continue to help normal people. Jason can't hide as his body was mutilated by the radiation he endured while hiding the nukes, so he is hunted and killed. His blood wakes Matt, the special who became a police officer, from his coma to continue the fight.Randy decides to run for president and enrolls Lionel, the special who can speak with the dead, to be his source of information he can use against his political rivals. Lionel finds a great deal of information from the dead, but using it doesn't help Randy until his third try when his opponents destroy their own chances to win. Randy forced the congress to back him by using the information from Lionel and the country improved dramatically. Unfortunately, there are still politicians who oppose the new regime and are making preparations to kill the specials and take over the country. The nuclear explosion killed all specials, except Simon who refused to go with them, and released their power to the whole world for one day. In that day the people saw their potential for perfection, stopped all conflict and banded together at a global scale.The ending has Simon, the last special with their combined power, lift off from Earth in a ship that takes him to the source of his power, closing the circle.

  • Christopher Mclean
    2018-11-13 17:12

    Unfortunately this felt like an excellent series going out with a wimpier rather than a boom. After two excellent volumes showing a fairly realistic take on how 113 super powered people change the world, this one didn't quite keep the momentum.This had the potential to be the most interesting and unique volume. All the conflicts between the specials are done and they are more or less living life united and in the mainstream, helping to build a better world. We see them tackling issues like nuclear disarmament, peace in the middle east, unemployment and the drug trade.This sounds excellent and based on JMS's past work I was expecting it to be handled in a unique and nuanced way. Sadly it really comes across as very rushed with not enough time dedicated to each issue, or to any character development and the underlying story playing out in a fairly predictable way.Overall it's still an excellent series.

  • Bill
    2018-12-03 21:57

    I finished the third graphic novel in the Rising Stars trilogy; Rising Stars: Fire and Ash by J. Michael Straczynski. In this volume, the Specials fight back, to use their powers for the good of mankind, even as the establishment, the corrupt government, the military machine tries to stop them. It's a very sad story at times, but ultimately edifying. Well-written series and it was nice to get back into my collection of graphic novels again. (4 stars)

  • Jonathan
    2018-11-23 18:01

    NBC's Heroes wishes it was this good.

  • Peter
    2018-11-17 16:08

    As I expected, this story was about the telling. I am glad that stories like this are made. The endless rehash of Marvel/DC characters in endless EARTH-X stories get old. Having stories in analog universes (think Astro City and Irredeemable and NEXTWAVE) are often quite satisfying, in that the analogs can do they things that Captain America or Batman cannot. And on the flip-side, in What-If type or the rare stories (one shot Daredevil story that I can't recall the name of or Red Son), those are more often than not, not very good. Also, I like that Straczynski had a start to finish story, something that doesn't always get a change in comics.

  • Carl Phillips
    2018-12-04 22:15

    A wonderful ending to a great series.

  • Amanda
    2018-12-05 21:49

    Not read in the Graphic Novel Book Club, but read inspired by itThe last 3rd of the story (even if it is the 3rd of 5 graphic novels), I did not know entirely what to expect going into this one. The peace and how the peace was both happening and falling apart. The continued government problems. The breaking and waking and dying of certain people busting my heart everywhere. The last three issues. The big explosion. The last ride / The ultimate reveal for the very beginning of the story and miracle itself. I have so many thoughts about these things and how the world had to wait years through a Top Cow hold out to get to them. And just. Yes, and no, and I'm so close to having read this entire canon now, too.

  • Rudra
    2018-12-05 21:05

    Finally! I finally found how it all ended. And you know what? That's a good and satisfying ending. Just a little too quickly paced. In some ways, I liked that I literally waited years to read this. I must have read Volume 1 and 2 a few times since i picked them up. Well all that study pays off. Everybody gets a reference in the end and, most importantly, I think Stracynski really says something profound about living life to your fullest potential. I guess in some ways, he's very much bringing the Golden Age ideals of superheroes to a more modern setting.I liked it. It was earnest. And I can almost always get behind that.

  • April Helms
    2018-12-07 20:11

    Somehow, I managed to check out and read the last book first. Oops! Complete accident. So, now I know the ending in this really neat, really gripping graphic novel. Now...I need to read the previous ones.... Fans of Babylon 5 and Heroes will like this. Basically, it's about a group of children who were in utero when a meteor hit. These children were given various superhero powers. The problem is, how will they be used -- especially when they discover that the death of one special enhances the survivors' own powers?

  • This Is Not The Michael You're Looking For
    2018-12-05 15:52

    The final act of the Rising Stars graphic novel, this book was not quite as twist-filled as the previous two, although the ending certainly caught me off guard (although it made perfect sense, once I'd absorbed it). Overall, the series was strong, an interesting look at what it would mean to have superpowers, how the world would react, and what the possibilities might be. A good change of pace story from the usual comic superhero we are used to.

  • Blair Conrad
    2018-11-11 19:03

    A high score based on the strength of the whole series. An interesting and uplifting story, not really providing tonnes of additional character insights, with one or two notable exceptions. The story proceeds quickly enough (maybe too quickly - a lot of time passes), with a number of tense and exciting moments.

  • diane
    2018-11-16 18:55

    I like that the whole story loops back to the beginning. I like the symmetry of it all.Overall a good story. It's interesting to note some of the loop holes and sort of polyanna-esque ideals in the story, which I think you can get away with in comics a little better than in other types of story telling. Or perhaps it was just this one.Glad I read them again.

  • Craig
    2018-11-13 17:06

    Overall, while the ending to the series was interesting, I didn't find it quite as powerful as the other volumes. There was less emotional impact in the last third of this volume when there probably should have been the most.I'm nit-picking, though. Easily one of the best comics-series ever produced. Absolutely fantastic.

  • Becky Haslam
    2018-11-15 23:59

    An absolutely stunning story! It is very cinematic and dramatic, and brilliantly written. I must admit I was a bit let down by the ending but I am willing to forgive that because of the amazing, heart stopping journey we are taken on from the start. A MUST READ!

  • Timothy Boyd
    2018-12-02 18:00

    A very interesting view of what the world would do to and how it would view superhumans born suddenly into the population. A scary view of human prejudices and the cause and effect of these prejudices. Fantastic art and one of the best comic storylines I have ever read. High recommended

  • Michael
    2018-12-10 18:01

    This volume contains one of the best endings to any comic series ever. You also get great Brent Anderson art!

  • Leigh
    2018-12-03 22:06

    Brilliant, fantastic ending

  • Lindsay
    2018-11-20 21:53

    Fantastic series. Much like the television series "Heroes".

  • Michelle
    2018-11-14 15:47

    My review of Rising Stars.As always, this story blows me away.

  • Keith Jones
    2018-11-27 17:17

    Wow, crash and burn