Read Ghost Star (Ghost Star Adventures) by Roger Eschbacher Online

ghost-star-ghost-star-adventures

When his father and crewmates are attacked and killed by a ruthless alien commander, young Galen Bray becomes the new captain of the GHOST STAR, a notorious smuggling vessel. Barely escaping capture, Galen sets out to rescue the only other survivor of the vicious attack, his sister Trem. Along the way, he discovers a mysterious people thought wiped out long ago, his familyWhen his father and crewmates are attacked and killed by a ruthless alien commander, young Galen Bray becomes the new captain of the GHOST STAR, a notorious smuggling vessel. Barely escaping capture, Galen sets out to rescue the only other survivor of the vicious attack, his sister Trem. Along the way, he discovers a mysterious people thought wiped out long ago, his family's surprising origins, and a destiny he never imagined......

Title : Ghost Star (Ghost Star Adventures)
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 36633246
Format Type : Kindle Edition
Number of Pages : 185 Pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

Ghost Star (Ghost Star Adventures) Reviews

  • Brian Clopper
    2018-11-18 22:07

    Eschbacher mainlines Heinlein in Ghost Star, delivering a dizzying adventure with well-constructed characters and perils galore. I'm a sucker for a great villain and Ghost Star has that in its sinister big baddie. This science fiction yarn has pluck and bops along at a delightful pace. And who can say no to massive black holes, really? Fans of Star Wars and Firefly will love Eschbacher's latest!

  • Mark Gardner
    2018-11-17 16:55

    So, Ghost Star, yeah… I really enjoyed this book. It’s tough to nail down why exactly. The story isn’t original in any way. The villain is so clichéd – let’s kill all the people different from us because they might give us cooties and I’m just a really scary individual. Every single part of the story has been done before. Some have done it worse, and some have done it better.I know, I know, it sounds like I’m bagging on Eschbacher’s first book in the Ghost Star Adventures trilogy, and I am, kind of, but I really liked Ghost Star. It’s a short read – three or four hours. Makes sense since it was a Kindle Scout entry. Probably just above 50k words. Nothing pulls you out of the story, and there are no complex political or socioeconomical themes that you need to understand: The bad guy wants to kill Galen Bray, and exterminate his people. Bray wants to save his sister and their people from the megalomaniacal villain. We cheer for Bray, and jeer the villain.I think that the best thing about Ghost Star is that it’s an utterly simple story with a straightforward telling that doesn’t require a lot of deep thinking. In today’s politically charged climate, we’re inundated with hate and malice, and have to wade through levels of crap to find the truth. It’s nice to just get lost in the narrative. And Eschbacher does a great job leading the reader from point A to B to C, etc. The ending is satisfying, and sets up more adventures, more books in the trilogy. I love it.Roger Eschbacher writes in a varied spectrum of genres and even has a children’s book. This has no bearing on this story, but as a multi-genre author, I’m glad to see I’m not the only one that hasn’t figured it all out. Anyway, Ghost Star is an easy read. It’s a four-star read. I look forward to reading the rest of the trilogy. Since he’s a Kindle Scout winner, and published by Kindle Press, I expect Ghost Star to be included in Kindle Unlimited when it comes out in a month. Get it. Read it. Preorder it if you want. However you get it, turn you brain off for a few hours and enjoy this popcorn sci-fi romp.

  • jeremy
    2018-11-05 14:04

    Highly reccomend this bookOutstanding plot and characters. You really feel for the characters and situations. A must read for any scifi reader i say.

  • JP Mac
    2018-10-29 16:42

    Young Galen Bray faces trouble by the gross. Pursued by the murderous alien Mohk, he pilots his space craft down an interstellar rabbit hole only to discover a lost civilization, his past and his destiny.This book seemed designed for younger readers, with some of the characters a tad thin. Also, the familiar archetypes peopling this thriller might've been tweaked to separate them out from the usual space opera tropes of warrior women, clever robots, and evil-for-evil's-sake villians.Nevertheless, the story's alien characters and locations are well-handled by the author who keeps his world accessible to the reader. In addition, there's action aplenty, a likable protagonist, droll humor and enough twists to keep the narrative speeding along. A fun, enjoyable read.

  • Jo
    2018-10-27 19:47

    Ghost Star is an entertaining story, although it's been done before. Well written but a little simplistic compared to most stories of this genre. For that reason, and the youth of the main character, Galen, and Trem, his little sister, I would recommend this for junior high sci-fi fans, say Grades 6-9.

  • CA Portnellus
    2018-11-11 18:08

    Eschbacher did it again! Humor and wit rolled into a super plot and great characters equals an enjoyable book. Liked this one a lot, good names, enough spacey tech for the science fiction fans, and a strong telling of the story. Again, a tale of the underdog besting the evilest of tyrants with wit and sheer stupid courage. I look forward to more of this storyline. A Luke Skywalker like sequence of the young captain discovering he and his family are special and so are his skills which he never took seriously. Losing his father and kidnapped sister thrusts the young man into danger and at times something he’d rather run from. Good job, Roger!

  • Rebecca
    2018-11-01 14:03

    This sci-fi book has less world-building than most books of this genre that I've read, but it has enough to keep the story interesting. This isn't necessarily a problem because the worlds of sci-fi novels can sometimes be so complex they are difficult to understand. This one is straightforward and more of a fast-paced adventure than it is a discovery of the world beyond ours. Even most of the species are human-like. I found it humorous, although at times humor didn't seem to fit the tense, serious situations the characters found themselves in. It's a quick read and entertaining. Although the story is complete in itself, it does end on a cliff-hanger to whet your appetite for the next book. I received a copy of this book through the Kindle Scout program.

  • Mike Stanfield
    2018-10-20 18:11

    DifferentNot my normal read. I will look for and download the next chapter if I can find it. Onward to the next book.

  • Jeffrey W. Chapman
    2018-10-19 17:46

    Entertaining ReadIt took time to get use to the author’s rapid fire style of writing and near infinite story twists but overall it was well written and entertaining story.