Read The Life and Opinions of Amy Finawitz, Eighth Grader by Laura Toffler-Corrie Online

the-life-and-opinions-of-amy-finawitz-eighth-grader

It can’t get any worse for Amy Finawitz. Her best friend, Callie, has abandoned their life in New York City to stay with relatives in Kansas for the year, leaving Amy to cope with eighth grade alone. Thankfully—or not—God sends Amy a replacement friend in the form of Miss Sophia, the little old lady who lives down the hall. Miss Sophia hooks Amy into solving a decades oldIt can’t get any worse for Amy Finawitz. Her best friend, Callie, has abandoned their life in New York City to stay with relatives in Kansas for the year, leaving Amy to cope with eighth grade alone. Thankfully—or not—God sends Amy a replacement friend in the form of Miss Sophia, the little old lady who lives down the hall. Miss Sophia hooks Amy into solving a decades old mystery left in a very old diary. The dynamic duo soon becomes a Terrific Triumvirate when Miss Sophia also asks her fifteen-year-old nephew, Beryl, a Lubavitch Jew, to join their little investigative team.And if Amy thought her year couldn't get anymore random, she can add the following items to her list: Houdini’s grave, the Lower East Side Tenement Museum, cross-dressing magicians, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, crochet circles, Abraham Lincoln, a raucous rendition of Fiddler on the Roof, and a secret treasure.To get through it all, Amy's going to need a serious Chanukah miracle....

Title : The Life and Opinions of Amy Finawitz, Eighth Grader
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 6953434
Format Type : Audio Book
Number of Pages : 172 Pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

The Life and Opinions of Amy Finawitz, Eighth Grader Reviews

  • Tom
    2019-03-30 15:56

    Very, very funny and insightful look into what it means to be young and discovering yourself and the world.

  • Fierce Reads
    2019-04-17 11:58

    hysterical! everyone will find a little bit of Amy in themselves as they get a front row seat to her antics, adventures, and attempts to keep busy in the absence of her best friend.

  • Kathy
    2019-04-12 16:56

    If you are looking for a fun read, peppered with the sarcasm and wit of an 8th grader, give The Life and Opinions of Amy Finawitz a try. Amy starts the book being quite self-centered. Everything is all about her. The story is told in the form of emails Amy sends to her friend who has moved away, abandoning Amy in NYC with no friends or social life. I enjoyed Amy's snarky comments and humor as she communicates the woes of her life to her friend. Through the course of the 4 months this book covers we watch Amy transform, grow and change for the better.Aimed at girls ages 11-14 this book had me laughing out loud many times while reading it. The all email format worked for this story. Teaming up a geeky girl, an old lady and a religious zealot to create a "dream team" for a research project made for a fun adventure. There is some mild language in it but nothing extreme.Content: some mild languageRating: 4 starsSource: From Author For Review

  • Ruby33
    2019-04-20 14:58

    Wow! This is one of my favorite books! Being around the age of the main character, I really related to some of the things she was going through. I also found the voice to be hilarious, and it had me chuckling outloud. And to top it all off, there was a sweet message in it as well as a cool discovery at the end.

  • Rebecca
    2019-03-22 16:46

    I loved this book! Not only is Amy hilarious, but she is perfect combination of what makes YA fiction so appealing to teenage girls. Amy is neither a Damsel in Distress or a Kick Ass girl. Instead she is wonderfully recognizable as an ordinary kid who could easier be one of her readers peers: the thirteen year old in me wanted to be friends with Amy and also to be her.It doesn't hurt that the email/play structure is clever without being gimmicky, that the story is compelling or that every other character is just as richly developed as Amy herself. I will definitely be reading whatever Ms. Toffler-Corrie publishes next.

  • Barbara
    2019-03-23 14:53

    This very enjoyable book is aimed at ten to thirteen year olds, and that is a very accurate representation of who this book would appeal to the most. It is written as a series of e-mails and one-act plays exchanged between eighth grade friends who are dealing with being apart for a year, although you are only privy to the main character, Amy's, side of the conversation. The issues that are dealt with, such as social cliques, fitting in, friendships, selfishness, acceptance, and loyalty, and the responses the characters have in different circumstances seem very realistic. Parents should be warned that there are a few cuss words later in the book. The edition I reviewed was an ARC.

  • NebraskaIcebergs
    2019-04-06 18:08

    There are no wizards, demi-gods, vampires, werewolves, fairies, zombies, or any other supernatural entities in The Life and Opinions of Amy Finawitz by Laura Toffler-Corrie. Instead there are two middle-school girls who like email, a former librarian senior citizen, a conservative Jewish boy, a nerdish jock, and several normal characters with normal abilities, normal faults, and normal lives. Yet this is an exceptional book.For starters, here's the cast of characters. Besides Amy and Callie, two middle-schooler girls who exchange email after Callie moves to Kansas and leaves Amy to fend for herself in New York City, there's the token jock who can be rather insensitive but can also be super nice and even nerdy about history. You'd never guess from their portrayal in the majority of our popular movies and books that popular kids could be complex human beings, but in this book they mostly are. There's also Miss Sophia. Surely you have noticed how quickly in children's book adults are turned into dysfuctional parents, killed off in accidents or crimes, or worse--don't even exist? Thereby, they are successfully relegated to the lowly ranks of minor characters who rarely have any impact on the main characters. Not so here. Miss Sophia becomes a member of Callie's "dream team" for her historical journal assignment an Callie learns about life as much or more from her as she did does from any of her peers.Another exceptional quality of the book is its humor. I laughed pretty much every chapter. Some of the humor lies in small scenes. For example, Amy refers to a guest doctor on a talk show. He shares this wise insight: It's often the unstable, unemotionally needy child, aka pain in the butt, who needs all the attention. Amy smartly writes: "Very insightful, those doctor guests, don't you think?" Some of the humor lies in larger scenes. For example, when Amy's teacher calls on her to share her favorite morality tale, Amy makes one up based on a PBS documentary she saw about dingoes attacking an emu. She says the moral is God saw the emu but let it die because God doesn't consider emus are that important. (Amy later gains more positive perspectives on God.) Her teacher asks her to meet later, causing Amy to vent to her friend Callie about teachers who care too much for their students: "Isn't there some support group out there for people who can't stop teaching, like Teacher's Anonymous?"The book also accomplishes the amazing feat of integrating religion without being preachy or antagonistic. To my recollection, the last book to even come close to such a balance with religion was Are You There God? It's Me Margaret? In both books the main characters are Jewish. (Actually, Margaret is only half Jewish and therein lies her dilemma.) Furthermore, in this book, one of the main male characters in this book is conservative Jewish--and proud of it while also being a sweet and sincere and likeable guy. Through him, we learn about Jewish celebrations and beliefs.The Life and Opinions of Amy Finawitz isn't perfect. While most of the email exchange reads like that of two chatty middle-schoolers, once in awhile some phrases come closer to resembling that of two chatty women with adultish-like phrases: "braver girl than me," "didn't have the heart to tell her," "sigh, more good times," or "panic wells up in my breast". The rest of my quibbles with the book can be summarized like this: The author doesn't confirm until two-thirds into the book that Amy is in eighth grade; I find it a little unbelievable that Callie's parents would take a one-year trip to Europe and move her to Kansas in their absence; The author doesn't reveal until two-thirds into the book that Callie is now living with her aunt and uncle; I question whether the author has ever been to Kansas (or the Heartland as she frequently calls it), because much of her descriptions of it involve stereotypes. Last, as the book progresses, Amy begins to more frequently use words like "damn" and "hell".Otherwise, despite its total lack of the supernatural so prevalent today in teen books, The Life and Opinions of Amy Finawitz is just about perfect. Besides all the reasons mentioned earlier, it also succeeds because it gently leads us to wonderful truths about life. I will be sharing this book with my sister, who enters eighth grade this year. It will also find a home on my shelves for years to come. This is one of my favorite reads of the year!

  • Kim
    2019-03-28 15:52

    Please note: I received an ARC of this book through the First Reads program. The book itself comes out in August.Amy Finawitz, an eighth grade New Yorker, is devastated when her best friend Callie moves to Kansas for a year. Who will be her friend while Callie's away? Surely not the knitting (or is it crochet) obsessed Judy or dorky Claire? But when her social studies teacher assigns each student the diary of an immigrant and tells them to put themselves into their shoes, Callie becomes fascinated with Anna Slonowitz, a Russian immigrant from the time of the Civil War. The assignment takes Callie all over New York, including trips to the Met and Coney Island, as well as deepening her friendship with her elderly neighbor Miss Sophia and introducing her to Sophia's very religious nephew Beryl. But when Callie starts hinting that she may not want to leave Kansas after all, Amy worries she may be really losing her best friend.The Life and Opinions of Amy Finawitz is cleverly told through Amy's emails (and frequently one act plays), which took a little getting used to because we don't get Callie's side of the exchange except through Amy's reactions. But Amy is a hoot, and the way she includes all sorts of minutiae in her emails (including fortune cookie fortunes and regular updates on her class crush) feels very authentic to anyone who's been through middle school and/or separated from a friend. I must admit that at times I had to remind myself I am not the intended audience for this novel (readers on the early end of the YA spectrum, i.e. middle school kids), because at times she struck me as a little judgmental or snotty. In her emails, she mocks Judy for what Amy sees as a dorky hobby; sure, the girl's a bit overenthusiastic, but she otherwise seems to be perfectly nice. However, eighth graders can be obsessed about who's popular and who's different, and to avoid any semblance of nonconformity in the interest of being liked. Similarly, the way Beryl acts and dresses (he is Hasidic and wears a prayer shawl, refuses to sit next to or shake hands with Amy because she's a girl) first makes Amy think he's a dork and not want to be seen associating with him by her peers. But over the course of the novel, she realizes he is a decent, intelligent person who gives some excellent advice, and that matters more than his sticking out from the crowd.One of the things I really liked about The Life and Opinions of Amy Finawitz was how her school assignment helped Amy to appreciate history and to learn more about her own heritage. As an educator, I've found that many students think of history as something that happened long ago to people who were nothing at all like themselves, so seeing Amy relate to Anna and revisit her city as if through Anna's eyes was really rewarding to me. In my idealistic little la-la-land, this is the kind of book that might get students interested in their own background, e.g. how their families or people like them got to this country. I do kind of wish the book had an afterword to explain the history behind Anna's story--there's one particular episode I was surprised to find was taken from history (I am an US history idiot), and I'd love to learn more about where the ideas for Anna's story came from. But as I said at the beginning, this is an ARC, and maybe the final book does have one. Or maybe kids, who aren't so history-obsessed as I am, just really wouldn't care. The Life and Opinions of Amy Finawitz is, above all, a fun read creatively told by an appealing narrator. Though the resolution struck me as a bit easy, overall the book was quite entertaining, and would make an excellent gift for the middle schooler in your life.

  • Noni
    2019-04-02 10:54

    A First Read from an advance reader's edition which I received for free. Where or where was the editor who could have shared his/her wisdom to help turn this book into a truly terrific one for this age group. It reminded me of the old adage "Too many cooks, spoil the broth" and in this case too many scenarios that have this wandering all over the place. I liked the authenticity of Amy being assigned a terrific immigration project as most schools cover immigration in detail in the eighth grade. She is given the journal of a young Russian Jewish girl who had settled in New York with her parents at the turn of the century. The exploratory trips with her elderly neighbor and the neighbor's nephew were at times a bit superficial but interesting more by the interactions than the historical discoveries. The important discovery at the end seems rather over the top. I liked some of her school reactions regarding classroom and lunchroom incidents as I felt they rang true. BUT using "hunkalicious" to describe the class heart throb is more Southern California than savy New Yorker. A real negative is the amount of time spent on the computer. For example on October 3rd - Amy is on the computer emailing from 6:20 -8:22 p.m.The story is about a young girl who emails her best friend who is spending a year in Kansas. The entire book is one sided in that the reader only sees Amy's emails (some of which are reactions to a comment or action of her best friend Callie). The more I got into the book, the more I began to really dislike Amy who more or less wants the world to revolve around her. While adolescents can be very dramatic - this borders on real selfishness.The author redeems herself a bit when Amy begins to realize that she might be a bit self-centered but between all of the Jewishness of the nephew's family, the school heart throb who lets it drop that he just happens to have a cousin who is Jewish, Amy's brother Kevin who has dropped out of college to pursue an acting career and all of his far-out activities, the length of some of Amy's emails, -- a story I really wanted to like left me very, very disappointed.Having worked in a school setting with the targeted age group for 25 years, I know that the title will attract a few readers but don't think they will take the time to finish the book and it will languish on a bookshelf. Don't blame the author as much as the editor who could have really turned this story around.

  • Rachel Star
    2019-04-11 14:11

    Amy Finawitz's life isn't exactly looking up right now. Her best friend Callie has just moved to Kansas for the rest of the year, leaving Amy stuck in New York with a social life that consists of avoiding people more than actually going out. Worse, her brother has dropped out of college to "follow his inner chi", her parents are driving her crazy and her teacher thinks she feels like a little abandoned emu. But when Amy finds a Callie-Replacement, an elderly neighbour and her religious nephew, things start to get interesting... A heartwarming and funny story told in emails from Amy to Callie as well as in the mysteriously wise words of numerous fortune coookies, The Life and Opinions of Amy Finawitz is one girl's journey to finding friendship in the most unlikely of places. I really liked this. It was addictively written; after I started it, it was so difficult to stop. The prose flowed beautifully, and despite only hearing Amy's side of the story, I never once felt I was missing out. I loved Ms Toffler-Corrie's turn of phrase; she has a real talent for picking perfect words and putting them in perfect places. The plot could have been slightly busier, but the pace was good and the writing style was awesome enough to carry the story along, as well as having a great character cast; Miss Sophia is a truly genius invention. Yet another feature of this book that made it go up in my estimation was how the romance was done. There was no shying away from the superficialness of teenage crushes (speaking as a teenager myself, I know that sometimes, yes, it is all about the looks), and Amy was never defined by who she fancied. This book was about more than just one kind of relationship, which was really demonstrated by her feelings towards Beryl and it was incredibly refreshing. How great is it to read something that isn't all about getting a (or "the") guy? Also, I enjoyed the Jewish aspects, despite not being at all religious myself, which made this book feel more genuine and original and just better. I'm not really much of a laughing at books kind of girl, but this did make me grin more than a couple of times. And snicker once or twice. Definitely one of the more enjoyable reads about at the moment. Overall, The Life and Opinions of Amy Finawitz stands out from the crowd of humour chick lit on the shelf as being one of the best, due to it's fabulously alive cast and brilliant prose.

  • Reading Vacation
    2019-03-22 12:12

    REVIEWMy fortune cookies say…Change can be a good thing.Amy starts off being very self-centered. I really didn’t care much for the all-about-me attitude that she had early in the story. Since Amy’s best friend, Callie, moves away, Amy finds herself being open to making new friends and putting herself out there. Even though she wasn’t thrilled about it at first, Amy realized that the world does not revolve around her life in New York.One-sided emails can be confusing.This entire book is presented as emails from Amy to Callie and one-act plays that Amy writes. The emails are fun to read, but they can be frustrating to understand because we never see Callie’s replies. Sometimes, I had some trouble following the conversation. The one-act plays though, were cute and funny.Boys are not always as they first appear.Amy learns an important lesson about boys. The school hottie, John, is a good guy, but he can be a little self-centered. On the other hand, Beryl, the Hasidic boy Amy meets has more to offer than it first appears. History lessons are not necessarily boring.I enjoyed reading about Amy’s school history assignment. She uncovered some interesting tidbits about the past. I would have loved that assignment! Maybe I should mention it to my history teacher.Thank you to Macteenbooks for sending this book for me to review.RATING4 Plot4 Characters4 Attention Grabbing5 Girlie Meter4 Ending21 TOTAL5 STARS

  • Ms. Yingling
    2019-04-03 13:53

    Amy is having a difficult year because her best friend Callie is spending it away from their New York City home living in Kansas with an aunt and uncle. Amy has a crush on John, but is irritated to the extreme with her remaining friends. She finds an unusual ally in Miss Sophia, a neighbor who was a librarian for 30 years and is now interested in helping Amy with a school project involving the diary of an immigrant girl. Miss Sophia also brings along her nephew, Beryl, who is from a Hasidic family and is very conservative and uncomfortable in Amy’s presence. The three do a lot of research on Anna and her times, and end up making a fairly large discovery. Amy thinks for a while that Beryl might “like-like” her, but they end up being good friends, and even though Amy is not particularly nice to John, he seems interested in her as well.Strengths: Lots of good details about Jewish life in New York City, and fairly funny. This reminded me a bit of some Paula Danziger books, or A Begonia for Miss Applebaum. (I really was expecting Miss Sophia to die!)Weaknesses: Amy was not particularly likable, although she did improve, and the format was confusing. Some of it reads like letters,(to Callie) but some is almost in text message format without Callie’s replies. This might be why it put me in mind of older titles. Even though this is only two years old, I know very few students who communicate by e mail, and certainly none of them write letters!

  • Aurali
    2019-03-23 11:00

    I won this book on firstreads. Admittedly I am not in the target age group and do not spend a lot of time with 8th graders. That being said, although the plot was pretty good (including the immigrant journal) the main character ruined the book for me. It was hard to empathize with Amy – she was downright mean at points in the book and I don’t believe that is what the author was going for. There was a small section toward the end where Amy was supposed to learn a lesson about being nice to others but it didn’t seem to really sink in with her.In my opinion this could go from a poor book to a good book with a few strategic changes. 1) I felt that the cover image really detracted from the book. The girl on the cover looks like she just smelled something awful and that sets the tone for Amy’s character. It is really hard to sympathize with a character who has that look on her face. 2) The references to the Midwest did not feel authentic. There was a lot of slang and references that I just didn’t believe an 8th grader would know about. 3) If the negativity/meanness was toned down a bit to reflect embarrassment the character would be a lot more sympathetic and the book a lot more enjoyable. 4) The author has to tell us what happened to the Lincoln letter! This was a major historical find and the author just brushed over it without describing any of the hoopla that would ensue when a discovery of this magnitude is made.

  • Rebecca
    2019-03-21 12:00

    I loved this book! Not only is Amy hilarious, but she is perfect combination of what makes YA fiction so appealing to teenage girls. Amy is neither a Damsel in Distress or a Kick Ass girl. Instead she is wonderfully recognizable as an ordinary kid who could easier be one of her readers peers: the thirteen year old in me wanted to be friends with Amy and also to be her.It doesn't hurt that the email/play structure is clever without being gimmicky, that the story is compelling or that ...more I loved this book! Not only is Amy hilarious, but she is perfect combination of what makes YA fiction so appealing to teenage girls. Amy is neither a Damsel in Distress or a Kick Ass girl. Instead she is wonderfully recognizable as an ordinary kid who could easier be one of her readers peers: the thirteen year old in me wanted to be friends with Amy and also to be her.It doesn't hurt that the email/play structure is clever without being gimmicky, that the story is compelling or that every other character is just as richly developed as Amy herself. I will definitely be reading whatever Ms. Toffler-Corrie publishes next.

  • Karen
    2019-04-14 18:12

    This was a First Reads win. It was a cute, fun read. Told through Amy's e-mails to her friend Callie who is spending the year in Kansas. At times the e-mails got rather lengthy and it felt like the author just threw in a greeting and a goodbye to continue the conciet. There was interesting info about Judaism, but I think the author missed an oppurtunity to teach the reader even more. I think a glossery ala Georgia Nicholson would have been helpful for the reader who didn't know some of the Jewish terminology. The ending concerning the class immigration project and the "mystery" was a little forced and rushed- the mystery should have been dropped totally or fleshed out more. Some other reviewers were annoyed with how self-centered Amy was, but they apparently have never been around teen girls - they ARE self-centered. That's how they function. Amy's voice rings very true. Again, cute read- I would recommend to Lauren Myracle fans.

  • Christine
    2019-04-09 14:48

    I won this through First reads. 3 1/2 stars. The main issue I had with this book was the format. The writing style did not really seem consistent with the voice of a young teen writing to a friend. BUT I was invested in the story and the characters. I found Amy to be self-absorbed but still likeable. I liked very much that she learned to see people beyong the initial impressions and preconceptions of who they are. Most importantly, I can think of at least a half-dozen girls I would recommend this book to and I know they would love it. The main obstacle to selling this book to them, though, is the cover art which is too childish for a Middle School crowd. The girl on the cover looks like a fourth or fifth grader. Most are not going to pick it up because it looks like a little kid book.

  • Cari
    2019-04-13 13:07

    I won this book from a give-away. It is one of my secret joys to read young adult books from time to time. They are fun and lighthearted. This book was no exception. Amy's best friend moves away for the year and this is the story of how Amy deals with that. It's written in a long series of emails, which could have been annoying but wasn't.Amy befriends a series of oddball characters through her need to complete a homework assignment and their strangeness combined with Amy's sarcasm and wit make for an amusing adventure. I recommend this book for young girls and maybe for some other mature women who like an occassional escape from the responsibilities and struggles of adult life.

  • Marjorie Ingall
    2019-03-30 15:04

    So I enjoyed the humor and the quirk and the NYC setting and the fact that THANK GOD this is a contemporary story (how many middle-grade and teen Holocaust novels have I read at this point? YAY AMY FINAWITZ FOR BEING A FUNNY, NON-HORRIFIC CHANGE OF PACE) and the use of an immigration curriculum to teach the somewhat narcissistic Amy a little personal growth. The fact that the protagonist is frequently unpleasant rings really true — hello, realistic tween! Alas, the epistolary format didn’t entirely work for me; it made the narrative a bit static. We’re only privy to Amy’s side of her email correspondence with her pal Callie, so Toffler-Corrie has to make Amy recap what Callie has said in her emails — the result is a bit stilted. But it’s a sweet, fun book.

  • Becca
    2019-03-21 16:04

    She is an asshole.Amy, I mean. She is inconsiderate and doesn't even care what Callie has to say. That isn't what its like to be young. That is selfishness. Very selfish. Like, "Amy is so selfish she likes to sell fish, shell fish and star fish at the seashore."She is also prejudiced. She thinks Beryl lives on a completely different planet because he is just religious.I repeat: What an ass.She also has anger issues. One of Beryl's siblings was teasing her aboit dating Beryl when she wasn't, she wondered if anybody would miss him. He made fun of you! Thay doesn't give you reason to become a murderer. Then, Callie (in the process becoming even more of a dumb ass than Amy) forgives Amy. I read it and was all: O.O

  • Melrose
    2019-03-29 17:49

    This book is about Amy Finawitz who writes to her friend daily about her school. One day she recives a project from school. It is is an immergrant journal! With this project she will have to tour around the city discovering things that the person also discovered. But she is not alone. She forms a "dream team" , which is made up of an old librarian and a super religious kid. This book is written in email from, and is funny and entertaining. I love the charachers personality, she is sarcastic and really sily!

  • Brenda
    2019-04-04 11:16

    I won this book on firstreads. I can usually tell when I'm not interested in a book when I'm feeling anxious and keep checking how many pages I have left. That was the case with this book. Although it was a quick read, I had to make myself go back to it. The email format of the book did nothing for me other than make me nostalgic about the days of penpals. I didn't feel connected with the charachters. However, I did like the plot around solving the mystery.

  • Cheryl-Lynn
    2019-03-25 14:46

    A goodreads first reads win! I read the ARC so there were a few things that will probably be fixed with editing. A fun read. I loved the last 20 or so pages- totally had me laughing. This book captures the awkwardness that is 8th grade. I couldn't really relate to Amy just because she was such a pessimist. Loved the "dream team." Unique writing- it was all written in letter (or rather e-mail) format.

  • Sarah
    2019-04-05 11:53

    I won this book on First Reads.OK, so admittedly, this book was written for tween girls, but it didn't strike a chord with me. I have read countless good children's novels, and this was not one of them. I found Amy, the main character, very annoying. I didn't feel that there was a lot of personal growth throughout the course of the book.I will give the book to my 12 year old daughter and see what she thinks- I have a feeling she will like it much more than I did.

  • Mandy McHenry
    2019-04-20 13:50

    I thought the cover was super cute and promising. I was a little put out by the fact that the book is written for 10-13 year olds (according to the back of the book), when it's full of swear words. I didn't speak that way when I was in middle school (or even now, as an adult for that matter) so why is it in this preteen book? The main character is such a pessimist, too. Won't read this again.

  • Karen
    2019-04-13 10:12

    Very cute book, in a New York Jewish way. It's composed of Amy Finawitz's e-mails and little one-act skits that she writes. Amy Finawitz is quite self-centered during her distress for most of the book, which is probably realistic but annoying to read. It's probably necessary to make the payoff worthwhile.

  • Claire
    2019-04-14 10:15

    Told in emails, this is Amy's eighth grade year. Callie has abandoned Amy and moved to Kansas- yes, it is All About Amy who is snarky, smart, and a little afraid to face the world without Callie at her side. This is the year that Amy finds out there is life after Callie. Ultimately a fun read about a very sassy girl.

  • Sandra McLeod
    2019-04-02 17:02

    The whole time I was reading this book, I kept seeing it as a movie. The characters are memorable, the storyline is wonderful, and I loved the historical thread throughout the book. I will remember the unique and memorable members of the "dream team" for a very long time. A most enjoyable read!

  • Emily
    2019-03-24 14:11

    I liked the premise and it is a quick fun read, but felt like the character development was lacking a bit and a hard time caring much about the characters. I did the like the style the author used, telling the story through emails.

  • Courtney
    2019-03-26 15:46

    This one had potential, but the voice did nothing for me. The e-mail format was a bit annoying--Amy had to repeat everything Callie said to her so we'd know what she was responding to. Not a bad effort, but definitely needs some clean-up.

  • Stephanie
    2019-03-22 15:56

    Cute, even though the main character/narrator is a bit of a brat. Also, IRL eighth-graders may say "hell" and "damn", but I don't want to read about it in a kids' book.