Read You're Finally Here! by Mélanie Watt Online

you-re-finally-here

Hooray! You're finally here! But where were you? A bunny bounces through a range of emotions in this funny picture book about how difficult it is to wait. At first he's ecstatic that you, the reader, has arrived. But then he can't help letting you know that waiting for you took too long, was way too boring, and even became insulting. The bunny is ready to forgive everythinHooray! You're finally here! But where were you? A bunny bounces through a range of emotions in this funny picture book about how difficult it is to wait. At first he's ecstatic that you, the reader, has arrived. But then he can't help letting you know that waiting for you took too long, was way too boring, and even became insulting. The bunny is ready to forgive everything if you will promise to stay. But hold on--he has to take a phone call. Wait! Come back !Where are you going? Underneath this book's silly, in-your-face humor are feelings true to every child who has had to wait for someone's attention....

Title : You're Finally Here!
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9781423134862
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 40 Pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

You're Finally Here! Reviews

  • David
    2019-03-19 19:16

    You're Finally Here! by Mélanie Watt is another winner among books that break the fourth wall and directly address the reader. A very cute, enthusiastic bunny celebrates the reader finally ariving. Her can't stop himself from wanting to know "Where were you???" and cmoplaining over his rude treatment. After presenting a contract for the reader to sign, promising to stay forever, he ignores the reader while taking cellphone calls until he realizes the reader is leaving.A very funny, silly look at how children feel ignored at times. It is also a classic example of "Do as I say, not as I do." A great commentary on being self centered, including cell phone conduct. This is one hyper, melodramatic bunny.The text is funny and detailed. The layout is reminescent of Mo Willems Pigeon book with panels where rabbit goes into detail about how long he waited and how bored he was waiting for the reader. The illustrations are hillarious, with the eyebrows and eyes being amazingly expressive. The how long rabbit waited includes long enough for paint to dry (showing bench paint marks on rabbit's back) and long enough to gather dust bunnies (one looks just like (his) Uncle Vern). A boring meter show the top reading: Bored up to my ears!!! The twist with the cell phone is very funny. For ages kindergarten and up, read-aloud, manners, funny themes, and for fans of Melanie Watt.

  • John
    2019-03-09 21:12

    I hope the publisher makes a book trailer. I really want to feature it on my blog.

  • AmandaSchreiber
    2019-02-19 21:16

    I love Melanie Watt! This book does not disappoint - I think it'd be a great back to school book. However, I do like some of her other titles such as, Have I Got a Book for You, a little better.

  • Nancy Jo Lambert
    2019-03-17 23:28

    Well, I had high hopes for this book since it is by Melanie Watt, but ultimately I didn't enjoy it as much as i thought I would. I think kids will like it just fine because it does have that playful, talk to the reader mentality that her other books have. I think I was just disappointed it didn't have more of a story.The little bunny is talking to the reader because they are so glad the reader is finally here. I found the repetition of the pages where the bunny explains in panels how it feels to be redundant.Overall, it is a fun read, it just didn't have the wow factor I was expecting.

  • Carrie
    2019-03-05 21:26

    If I wanted to be this irritated by someone berating me, demanding all my time, and then ignoring me, I'm sure there are lots of places I could find that. This character had no appeal visually or intellectually. Therefore, I'm just tense for no good reason.Some kids might like this sort of chatty book, and it gives some good examples and vocabulary for being bored, annoyed, and irritated. It just wasn't worth it to me.

  • Angie
    2019-03-15 17:14

    Melanie Watt can do just about as much with a few tweaks of an eyebrow or ear as the other "MW" in the kids' book world. Love the bunny and his enthusiasm!

  • Colby Sharp
    2019-03-06 18:29

    Not as good as Scaredy Squirrel, but still a cute little book. I actually found the rabbit in this book to be a little more annoying than necessary.

  • Theresa
    2019-03-05 21:18

    You're Finally Here! (Hardcover) by Mélanie Watt Just the right rabbit for the job. teaching kids that being over board with your reactions may not be the best policy when dealing with other people. The kids loved this book, and that jubilant child who is just like this rabbit could not wait for you to read it again.

  • Leslie
    2019-02-21 22:07

    This would be a fun read aloud. Frustrated that it's out of print.

  • Donna Mork
    2019-03-16 22:26

    Book pulls reader in by breaking the 4th wall. Talks about waiting, and rude behavior, and gives examples.

  • Julie
    2019-02-23 19:06

    Very meta, very fun.

  • Anne
    2019-02-24 18:07

    Yet another children's book in which rude masquerades as funny.

  • Shane Monroe
    2019-02-21 01:24

    This is a very funny book, about a very crazy, possessive bunny that REALLY needs to know where you have been. A great story to use for a light, comedic read-aloud with your children. It also shows the value of being patient and kind to your friends. Picture Book. 2011.

  • Erin Reilly-Sanders
    2019-03-04 21:25

    The psychotic bunny is kind of funny, in a rather Mo Willems Don't Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus fashion. However, it's not as funny as the Chester books which are just hilarious. This is certainly more of a performance book that may lack in an individual, silent reading. The expressions are engaging and the situations well thought-out for comic impression but I don't understand some of the jumps from angry bunny to nice bunny- there somehow seems to be lacking an impetus for him/her to try the different tactic. I really wasn't big on the style of the art. Despite the heavy-handed use of texture, the digital art still feels too slick and cartoon like. Unfortunately it ends up feeling a bit soulless, especially when compared to Mo Willems pigeon which has a wild exuberance, perhaps due to the unpredictability of Willem's pencil lines. Still, You're Finally Here is worth checking out for the metafictive interaction and sense of play, even if it's not of the same classic status that Chester and Pigeon achieve.

  • Melanie
    2019-03-03 18:18

    French-Canadian children's author/illustrator, Melanie Watt, returns with a very Willems-like story. Readers are greeted by a bobblehead-style rabbit who is rather excited that the reader is finally here! Many aspects of waiting and patience are discussed, making this a great story for teaching patience. Waiting, boredom, unfairness, annoyance and rudeness are all part of this story.On several occasions the rabbit reminds himself that his reproachfulness of the reader is rather rude in itself. He tries to alter his behavior accordingly. There are many opportunities for storytime participants to interact with the story. Very like Mo Willems "Elephant and Piggie" books, the dynamic text encourage excitement and rather over the top reading.A good book for storytime. Make sure to be familiar with the story before a reading as there are many boxes and text bubbles to be aware of. Great for one-on-one reading.

  • Tiffany Bates
    2019-03-13 19:27

    You're finally here! Is an absolutely adorable book. The bunny is excited that the reader has finally shown up to read the book but ends up getting angry. The bunny questions the readers on where they were. At the end of the book bunny answers the phone and ignores the reader and is sad that the reader is leaving. I loved that the bunny was talking directly to the reader. It was a good way to keep the kids interested. I would recommend it for preschool to second grade. It is really funny and will keep the younger kids entertained but for the older kids it has a good lesson about patience and being a good friends. Due to the bunny talking to the reader it will keep the younger kids focused and wondering what the bunny will say next and the older kids relating to the problems the bunny talks about. Watt, Mélanie. You're Finally Here! N.p.: Hyperion, 2011. Print.

  • Alex Fairhill
    2019-02-28 01:31

    The bunny looks cute, but he's not!Starting and ending on the dust jacket, the rabbit directly addresses the reader, alternating between joyfulness at the reader’s arrival and complaining of waiting, boredom, and rudeness - basically telling the reader off for not reading the book sooner. He says he’ll stop asking what took so long if the reader signs a contract agreeing to never leave. The rabbit then answers multiple phone calls, ignoring the reader. This push-pull engages the reader, who concludes that he or she was right to leave the obnoxious rabbit unread in the book.As a parent of a kid who often argues against himself, even if he's got what he wants, the rabbit is a familiar character. I think the unlikeable character of the rabbit works well to place children in a mindset that their parents might often be in.

  • Ekassel
    2019-03-04 22:28

    Description: A crazy little bunny goes back and forth from being excited to see the reader to being upset that it took so long to show up. Age level: Pre-k - 2nd gradeCurriculum connection: This book would be a good for a lesson on emotions, because of the bunny's strong emotions portrayed in the book. It would also work for etiquette and being present in the moment, which the bunny does not do as he answers the phone and ignores the reader. Visual appeal: The pictures are cute and appropriate for the targeted age. The illustrations really show the emotions, as well as depict each motion described by the bunny. The pictures definitely add to the overall understanding of the book. Intended audience: young elementary children, especially those first learning about emotionsGenre: fantasy/fiction

  • Emi Bevacqua
    2019-03-13 20:13

    There's absolutely no story to this book, I think it's more for the parents to enjoy than the children. I will say the illustrations appeal to any age. However, I have to put on my frowny pants and grump all over Melanie Watt for introducing my girls to such horrifying notions as "sticking gum under the sofa," and "running on carpet with muddy feet." Upon hearing the line, "as unfair as being too short to go on a ride," one of my 4 year olds said, "that's not about fair, that's about safe if a little kid falls off a ride!" I think it's unconscionable when puppets make jokes to little kids about not liking school, or when President Bush tells the world he doesn't like eating broccoli; and Melanie Watt, I take issue with you telling my kids that having to go to bed and having to eat a brussels sprout is unfair! No matter how cute your bunny's eyebrows are.

  • Perri Hammershlag
    2019-02-22 01:11

    You're Finally Here by Melanie Watt is about a bunny who is waiting for someone, the reader. The bunny talks about long he is waiting, how annoying it is, and how bored he becomes. Eventually, is wait is over and the bunny does not want you to leave. Are you going to stay?The book automatically engages readers because the Bunny is talking directly to the reader. The book also uses similes, which is a great introduction for younger children. You're Finally Here has elements of a graphic novel, introducing students to this style of books in an approachable manner.Similar books:Swim! Swim! by Lerch"Do you know how LONG I've been waiting in here? Long enough to watch paint dry...long enough to find a needle in a haystack...long enough to learn an accordion solo...long enough to gather dust bunnies."

  • Dione Basseri
    2019-03-04 20:30

    Tries for a "Cow and Pig" feel, winds up more annoying than Hoops and Yoyo, but I'm speaking more from an adult point of view, here. Kids? Kids may very well love this and demand it be read many times, they seem to do that. But you, as a parent, are probably going to regret this book by the middle of the first reading.A rabbit berates you for showing up late to the book. It flips between demanding to know where you are and insisting you get to hanging out, until you get to the "twist" ending.I normally advise parents to check out a book from the library to try it, first, but be careful with this one. Read it on your own, without kids, and see if you can stand it enough to read multiple times. I surely can't.

  • J.F. Sanborn
    2019-02-24 19:05

    Melanie Watt's stories are famous for talking directly to their readers. This style engages children and appeals to their imaginations. As in her Chester books, You're Finally Here is written as a frank conversation between its character and the reader (who cannot get a word in!). An adorable bunny with eyebrows is SO excited you have finally showed up to read his book, but he still cannot get over his irritation at how long it took you to show up! This bunny expects a very high level of courtesy from his reader, but can he behave according to these expectations? Find out when you read this story with your preschooler or when your K-1st grader reads it to you!

  • Barbara
    2019-02-22 17:24

    I found this book in which the book's character, a bunny, breaks free from the book to address the reader delightful and refreshing. After the reader has been welcomed, the bunny begins to berate him/her, trying to find out what took so long. When a contract between the bunny and the reader is drawn up, negotiations are broken up by a phone call, and the rabbit turns its back on the reader. The book is filled with clever lines. One of my favorites is at the end of the book when the reader is described in this way: "...seems nice, no fleas, good steady page turner." Hilarious! The artwork uses soft colors and large shapes in full pages alternating with panels. All the nuances of this one might best be enjoyed by sophisticated readers.

  • Katie
    2019-03-21 20:06

    You're Finally Here! by Melanie Watt is such a cute story. A little bunny is the main character, and it was so happy to see me reading this book. The bunny was very bored while waiting for me to read this book, and it definitely let me know how bored he actually got. It was unfair and so rude of me to wait so long to read this book in the bunny's opinion! The author uses a lot of similes to describe how bored Bunny was while waiting not so patiently for me to read the book. This book is intended for preK to about first grade. It's a good book because the pictures and print are nice and big, and it is an excellent read aloud book. Watt, M. (2011). You're finally here!. New York: Disney/Hyperion Books.

  • Lynn
    2019-03-10 19:01

    One of a relatively new format in which the story character directly address the reader, this cutesy little bunny has a wide range of facial expressions. Pastel yellows & oranges remind one of carrots, which the rabbit slyly slides into the 'contract' forced onto the reader to not go away again. But this is soon interrupted by the ringing of a cell phone, not once, but twice, which leads the reader to thoughts of if the rabbit just didn't have anyone 'better' with whom to spend his/her(?) time.Could be used to help youngsters identify feelings of joy and disappointments which are a normal part of life.

  • Stephanie Croaning
    2019-03-17 23:12

    The beginning of this book reminds me of Mo Willems' Elephant and Piggie book -- WE ARE IN A BOOK! Bunny, the main character, speaks directly to the reader and expresses how excited he is that someone is finally reading his book. He alternates between excitement and then being annoyed that it to the reader so long to get there. While the ending certainly fits today's society, I also felt it was a let-down. For me the book started out about the joy of reading, but the ending was more about technology eroding our manners and taking over real relationships. The illustrations are adorable! I gave the book 3 out of 5 stars.

  • Cassie
    2019-03-16 22:19

    From Mélanie Watt, author of Scaredy Squirrel and Chester the Cat comes this adorable bunny! He gets excited to see that you're here, but wait! Where has the reader been all this time? This would be such a cute book to read for Storytime; the kids would get a definite kick out of it.Readalikes: We are in a Book! because of reader interaction and Scaredy Squirrel for same writing style.

  • Gretchen
    2019-03-13 00:05

    Description: Hooray! You're finally here!" Bunny exclaims from the first page of this young picture book. Then his mood changes: "Where have you been?" Bunny goes on to demonstrate the many reasons why it is rude to keep someone waiting. Just when it looks as though he has convinced the reader to stay, he takes a cell phone call! This silly book captures the way kids feel about being at the mercy of other people's busy schedules.Here's my review: CUTE!!!!! If I was attacked by this bunny every time I was late, I would NEVER be late again. The drawings are perfectly fitting for the story and I love the twist at the end. How appropriate. 5 stars!

  • Judy Desetti
    2019-03-07 00:26

    It speaks directly to the reader which I think kids would like. It seemed to be too repetitive for me. I would have liked it better if it had gone into a bit of a storyline. Something with character, setting, and plot. I could have tied the whole audience and storyline together in developing a story and used this with both primary as well as older students. Just did not grab me enough to make my list. It is similar to Don't Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus, but why not stick to the original?

  • Laura
    2019-03-02 18:14

    This book was cute...there were a couple of times where I thought the rabbit was a little annoying, but I think kids will probably think it's funny. The illustations were interesting. I liked the different ways the bunny showed his distain with waiting. The ending was a little random. I felt like it was a little disjointed from the rest of the book, but I might still recommend.*Taken from my book reviews blog: http://reviewsatmse.blogspot.com/2011...