Read The Paris Review Book of People with Problems by The Paris Review Stephin Merritt Online

the-paris-review-book-of-people-with-problems

The Paris Review asks: who hasn’t survived a tax audit, a snowstorm, a break-up, or presided over a murder?The next addictively clever Paris Review anthology is not a self-help manual; rather it is a wicked elaboration on the human effort to overcome--and instigate--trouble. Throughout these pages you will find men plagued with guilt, women burdened by history, scientistsThe Paris Review asks: who hasn’t survived a tax audit, a snowstorm, a break-up, or presided over a murder?The next addictively clever Paris Review anthology is not a self-help manual; rather it is a wicked elaboration on the human effort to overcome--and instigate--trouble. Throughout these pages you will find men plagued with guilt, women burdened by history, scientists bound by passion, mothers fogged with delusion, and lovers vexed with jealousy. In the theme that encompasses every life, no protagonist--or reader!--is exempt.Among those to appear: - Annie Proulx- Andre Dubus- Norman Rush- Charles Baxter- Wells Tower- Julie Orringer- Elizabeth Gilbert- Ben Okri- Rick Bass...

Title : The Paris Review Book of People with Problems
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9780312422417
Format Type : Paperback
Number of Pages : 384 Pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

The Paris Review Book of People with Problems Reviews

  • Suzanne
    2018-08-28 02:43

    Problems indeed---that's putting it pretty mildly for some of the people in these stories. The stories are quite varied, but a few of them are just plain disturbing. Especially the last one---Crystal River by Charlie Smith. There are a few scenes in it that just kept me from sleeping, and I don't think the literary value of the story is high enough to make that worth it. I liked a few of the stories a lot---The Wamsutter Wolf by Annie Proulx is one. It's the first work by Annie Proulx I've read, and I think I'll seek out more by her. Another standout was the story by Elizabeth Gilbert. I'd say to approach this collection with caution. There's good reading here, but this is a true mixed bag in terms of quality, tone and content.

  • Erin
    2018-08-23 00:44

    I bought this book several years ago but felt no inspiration to read it until a few weeks ago. Some of the short stories were totally off-the-wall and wonderful, others were kind of lackluster. I'm very happy to have read short stories by so many notable authors, several of whom are Guggenheim fellows, and others who have won the Pulitzer Prize, National Book Award, and the Booker Prize. After getting a taste of all these different writing styles, I'm pretty excited to read more by Annie Proulx, Elizabeth Gilbert, Charles Baxter and Richard Stern.

  • Stephen Dorneman
    2018-09-08 02:52

    Oh, Paris Review. Beautifully written short (and long) stories, too many of which have unsatisfying endings and center around people that don't actually do things that real people would really do.

  • Jay
    2018-09-12 21:55

    When I first saw this title, 1CThe Paris Book of People with Problems, 1D I thought to myself this book is for me. Actually, forget about me, I liked the stories by Annie Proulx, Charlie Smith, Julie Orringer and Malinda McCollum. My favorite has to be Denis Johnson 19s 1CTrain Dreams 1D. I read this one first in an O.Henry Prize Story anthology (2003). It 19s long and meandering, so much so that when O. Henry juror Jennifer Egan chose it as a favorites, she explained that it wasn 19t the most compelling thing she ever read, nor did it move her on a psychological or emotional level. She voted it as the best short story of the year because she was totally trapped in its mystery 13 she didn 19t know what it was about!I second that motion. The story is great. I bought the Paris Review to read it again and again. Initially, I became extremely nervous about a white guy showing little remorse about the murder of a Chinaman in the historic Pacific Northwest, but gradually my anxiety dissipated when Johnson took me away from one mystery and into another. I 19m not sure what this story is about either. I know that a guy is born on a train, and he is probably going to die on one or close enough to hear a whistle in the background. In between there is the beauty of the landscape and the violence of its destruction. Johnson pays close attention to details of the setting 13 the summer heat, the smell of explosives, the poverty of depression era existence. But from these details, rise a certain spiritual wonder. I 19ve read many other Johnson short stories. And they are short, and to the point. They seem to capture the sadness of a moment. Here Johnson strives to capture something much bigger. There 19s Kootenai Bob who upon getting drunk for the first time in his life wanders on to the train tracks and gets flattened. There was the guy who was accidentally shot by his own dog! And don 19t stop reading until you get to like the 75th page, and you will meet up with the wolfboy who howls secret perspective on the meaning of life. OK. I liked Annie Proulx who created desperate characters living in desperate situations. And Julie Orringer masterfully sets straight a lifetime of personal frustration and animosity between two sisters. It 19s Denis Johnson, however, I read for 75 pages to get to the howl of the wolfboy: 1Cmore and more awful and beautiful, the originating ideal of all such sounds ever made, of the foghorn and the ship 19s horn, the locomotive 19s lonesome whistle, of opera singing and the music of flutes and the continuous music of bagpipes.. 1DWho was the wolfboy, and what did he mean to the story? I 19m not sure I care, but I agree with Jennifer Egan when she says that the story 19s strangeness far outweighs any of its confusion. It 19s great!

  • Donna
    2018-09-19 22:56

    Three sentences into the intro and I can't go any further. Somebody please help. What the hell does, "With never enough clothing, we have to express our bootless rage not through the second skin of fashion (it's too cold) but through the third skin of our decor" mean? I don't understand the second sentence either. :(Very frustrating, this "hilarious introduction by Stephin Merritt."

  • T P Kennedy
    2018-08-27 21:00

    Might more aptly be titled the book of authors with problems. I anticipated depression, tragedy and so on - I didn't anticipate some bad writing and a general sense of hopelessness. There are some amazing contributors such as E Annie Proulx and Ben Okri but even their contributions are poor and are far from their best writing. A generally unpleasant and forgettable volume.

  • Alex Roth
    2018-09-14 00:43

    Hey, I don't usually like short stories, but some of these are great. This avoids the single-author collection problem of getting sick of that one voice. I especially like the poignant "When She is Old and I am Famous," a narrated by an overweight art student about her cousin, the beautiful model.

  • Jackie Mondi
    2018-09-02 19:42

    I give this book five stars because it truly lives up to its name. Any problem I thought I had paled into insignificance when compared to the problems experiences by the people in this book. I am halfway, the point is made, I can read no further.

  • Chelsea Jennings
    2018-09-10 21:57

    I enjoyed most of this book. I enjoyed some of the stories less than others, but this is pretty typical for an anthology with various authors. Some of the stories did have me laughing out loud, multiple times!

  • Cynthia
    2018-09-05 19:53

    Concise and sweet stories. I'll surely look out for other publications by a few of these featured writers.

  • Kristine
    2018-09-14 01:55

    even more depressing than I had anticipated....

  • Lindsay
    2018-08-29 02:36

    More uneven than their "Book for Planes, Trains, Elevators, and Waiting Rooms," but there were some great stories in here, including one by Charles Baxter that I hadn't come across previously.

  • Eva
    2018-09-05 19:30

    This is a really great collection of new short stories-Annie Prolux, Miranda July, Wells Tower...it's depressing but overall a lot of fun. I really recommend it.

  • Philip
    2018-08-28 00:51

    Deftly curataed and a gas to read. Not a boring or disappointing one in the bunch.

  • Jason Robinson
    2018-08-31 22:57

    3.5 stars

  • Margot
    2018-09-21 00:30

    Ci sono alcuni gioielli.[Il lupo di WamsutterIl racconto dell'eremitaIl quinto muroSogni di treniIl famoso trucco della sigaretta accesa spezzata e riaggiustata.]

  • Hannah Garden
    2018-09-19 01:50

    Sufficiently if not extravagantly awesome.

  • Teresa
    2018-09-21 19:38

    I bought this book on recommendation of a local writer and found it to have wonderfully written short stories! Great reading for the bedside to the beach!

  • Alison P
    2018-09-07 00:40

    stories are not exceptional, although I only read a select few.

  • Tim
    2018-09-22 02:48

    Short fiction by various authors. Definitely a mixed bag, with strong, heartbreaking contributions from Elizabeth Gilbert, James Lasdun and Miranda July.